**Review for Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon.**

20590829_757752374406849_1412680477_oTitle: Everything, Everything

Author: Nicola Yoon

Genre: YA Romance

Tags: Young Adult, teenagers, romance, illness, new experiences

Blurb:

Risk everything . . . for love.

What if you couldn’t touch anything in the outside world? Never breathe in the fresh air, feel the sun warm your face . . . or kiss the boy next door? In Everything, Everything, Maddy is a girl who’s literally allergic to the outside world, and Olly is the boy who moves in next door . . . and becomes the greatest risk she’s ever taken.

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

REVIEW:

So, today I was staring at my bookshelf and kept looking at my daughter’s book that she’d gotten for her birthday. Actually, I’d been thinking about reading it for the past couple of days, but life is crazy right now. Well, today I decided to take some me time and read it. Honestly, I hadn’t heard of the book other than my daughter telling me she wanted to read it and see the movie. So, I was going in blind. I didn’t know what to expect of it.

Amazingly enough, I’m glad I did go in blind. After reading the blurb to put in my review… It really tells too much. But that aside, this book is a great read. I read it in 3 hours.

Immediately, the author describes Madeline’s surroundings and gives a hint as to what her life is like. My heart was taken quickly for this character. To live inside, unable to experience life… *shakes head* it’s just heartbreaking.

Madeline was alone essentially. She had her mom, who is a doctor, and her nurse Carla. Carla is her only friend. Can you imagine a life where you have no peers your age to interact with. She was tutored online and had some online schooling, but NO ONE ever visited because they couldn’t. They might bring in something that would make Madeline very ill.

For the most part, Madeline was okay with her life. After all, it’s all she’s known. Never stepping out the front door, never knowing what life she was truly missing…

But then Olly moved in next door. He made her laugh with a silly bit with a cake. It was the start of a friendship that Madeline would grow to depend on quickly.  They talked online and through messages on his window. He asked her a lot of fast five questions.

In just a single moment, Olly had began to take over Madeline’s focus. She was his Maddy. She’d never even had a nickname before him. Seeing him so free made her long for things that could inevitably kill her. Yet somehow she still wanted them all the same. She wanted HIM all the same.

I’ll admit, I cried twice in this book. Her life is just so tragic. To find love and acceptance from someone that didn’t really understand is amazing. He shows her how to live and she teaches him how to survive. My daughter is currently reading this book and I’m glad she is. This a must read for all young readers. Life is not always predictable and there’s always someone out there that has it worse. But most of all, life is full of possibilities. Sometimes we take those for granted. This book will make you look at life in a different light. A light that shows you what is really important and what doesn’t need to be stressed over.

We get lost often over the small falls and miss the trip there. The trip to even the failures is life. Though things never go as planned, that’s life. It’s messy and full of whatever we want.

I recommend this book to anyone who wants a chance to look at life in better light. That needs to be reminded that the small successes are more important than any failure. That needs remind that failure is the first step to success. That needs reminded that you only fail when you give up. If you need these reminders, READ THIS BOOK!

Get your copy in all retail markets! 

Amazon

B&N

Books-a-million

iBooks

Indiebound

Vroman’s Bookstore

Leave a Reply

